Guide to Resources on YMCA Work in China
![]() |
Background Information
- Explore an online exhibit that tells the story of the origins and development of the Olympic movement in China by looking at the YMCA's introduction and promotion of athleticism there in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
Resources in the Kautz Family YMCA Archives
The Kautz Family YMCA Archives photo collection extensively documents the YMCA's work in China, particularly health campaigns, and sports and recreation, as well as people and buildings. Over 700 of these images have been digitized and are available through the University of Minnesota College of Liberal Arts Digital Content Library (DCL). » Browse the DCL China Photographs.
A small number of digitized photographs of YMCA Work in China are available through the YMCA Archives Digital Image Database. Search using the keyword, "China." » Go to the Kautz Family YMCA Archives Digital Image Database
Additional photographs of YMCA work in China may be found in the collections of Foreign Work and Armed Services Work photo albums. »Contact the Archives for more information
-
YMCA International Work in China Records, 1890-1991Records documenting YMCA work in China, including histories, annual reports, report letters, correspondence, minutes, records of specific programs and activities, building records (including building plans), financial records, biographical records, pamphlets, and maps. »See the finding aid for more information on these records
-
YMCA International Work in Taiwan RecordsAlthough some material concerning Taiwan is included in the YMCA International Work in China Records, additional records of work in Taiwan, are separately cataloged »Contact the Archives for more information
-
YMCA International Work in Hong Kong RecordsAlthough some material concerning Hong Kong is included in the YMCA International Work in China Records, additional records of work in Hong Kong, are separately cataloged »Contact the Archives for more information
-
Biographical FilesThis collection of biographical data includes primarily resumes, employment records, obituaries, and other background material, and occasionally small collections of personal papers of hundreds of YMCA leaders, including many who worked in China, such as Paul B. Anderson, Eugene Barnett, Fletcher Brockman, Harry Brunger, Earle Buckley, Capt. Robert Dollar, G. Sherwood Eddy, Max Exner, Arthur Gutter, Lawrence Hall, Koo Tse Zung, Frank B. Lenz, Robert E. Lewis, D. Willard Lyon, Paul W. Moritz, W. Wesley Peter, C. H. (Clarence Hovey) Robertson, Arthur G. Robinson, Arthur Rugh, Lennig Sweet, Hollis Wilbur, and Lucian Wilson . »See the finding aid for more information on these records
- Eugene Barnett Papers, 1920-1975Papers of Eugene Barnett documenting, in part, his YMCA work with China where he served in Hangchow (Hangzhou), and subsequently as the national student secretary for China, national city secretary, and then senior secretary for the International Committee of the YMCA in China. »See the finding aid for more information on these records
- Gilbert Beaver Papers, 1887-1952Correspondence and reports documenting YMCA student work (including the Committee on Friendly Relations) and foreign work, especially in China during the early 20th century. Accounts in the correspondence relate the conditions in China and recount conversations with leaders such as Chiang Kai-Shek. »See the finding aid for more information on these records
- Clifford Petitt Papers, 1922-1983Correspondence with other YMCA leaders, an extensive manuscript autobiography, and other papers documentating, among other things, Petitt's twenty years of YMCA work in China (Tsindao (Qingdao) and Shanghai), as well as China-related organizations in which he was active in the United States. »See the finding aid for more information on these records
- Other Personal Papers CollectionsThe YMCA Archives also holds the personal papers of several other individuals who worked extensively in China, including the following:
Paul B. Anderson
George Lerrigo
William Lockwood
D. Willard Lyon
Kirby Page
»Contact the Archives for more information
For more information on the titles below, search the University of Minnesota Library's online catalog or contact the Kautz Family YMCA Archives.
- Barnett, Eugene E. Memoirs of Eugene Epperson Barnett.
- Garrett, Shirley. Social Reformers in Urban China; The Chinese Y.M.C.A., 1895-1926. Harvard University Press, 1970.
- Hsing, Chun Baptized in the Fire of Revolution : The American Social Gospel and the YMCA in China, 1919-1937. Lehigh University Press, 1996.
- Koltach, Jonathan. Sports, Politics, and Ideology in China. Jonathan David Publishers, 1972.
- Morris, Andrew D. Marrow of the Nation : A History of Sport and Physical Culture in Republican China. University of California Press, 2004.
- Risedorph, Kimberly A. Reformers, Athletes, and Students : The YMCA in China, 1895-1935. Thesis, Washington University, 1994.
- Association Progress. Shanghai : Young Men’s Christian Associations of China
- China’s Young Men. Young Men’s Christian Association of China
- The Chinese Recorder and Educational Review. Shanghai : Editorial Board, 1939-1941.
- C.S.C.A. Fellowship Notes. New York : Chinese Students’ Christian Association in America,
- Dong Gong. Shanghai : City Division of the National Committee of the Y.M.C.A.s of China
- Foreign Mail. Young Men's Christian Associations of North America. International Committee.
- Monthly Bulletin of the Chinese Students’ Christian Association of North America. New York: Chinese Students’ Christian Association of North America
- Student Bulletin. Shanghai : Student Division, National Committee Y.M.C.A. of China
- Shanghai Young Men. Chinese Young Men’s Christian Association of Shanghai
- Tientsin Young Men. Tientsin : Y.M.C.A.,

